reservations

New York City hotel reviews

The Sherry-Netherland honored among TripAdvisor New York City hotels

We strive to deliver a world-class experience at The Sherry-Netherland hotel with a blend of classic luxury, modern comforts, lavish amenities and unsurpassed service that makes for an unforgettable stay for elite New York travelers. We consider it high praise to hear our guests proudly say “We’re at The Sherry,” and appreciate being the preferred choice among New York City luxury hotels.

Your positive New York City hotel reviews and ratings have brought about recognition from TripAdvisor, which welcomes The Sherry-Netherland hotel to its Certificate of Excellence Hall of Fame. The Sherry-Netherland is ranked No. 2 among TripAdvisor New York hotels and a 2015 Certificate of Excellence winner, and we always invite guests to use TripAdvisor to let us know how we’re doing. Thanks to your appraisals, you’ve helped us shape what exemplary service means:

Among our favorite New York City hotel reviews:

elgaucho72 via TripAdvisor

I’ve been Here for 2 days, think that I’ll never find another hotel as perfect for me as this, I thought I Was an emperor, The most peculiar Thing in My book is the toilet, thought I could ever sleep There, what's To Say? ? WOWWWW!!!!!

SanfordEvans via TripAdvisor

We love staying at the Sherry-Netherland. It's a classic hotel. And the people who make the hotel function are gracious, professional, yet very warm, very friendly. very welcoming. If you encounter a problem or need something they are incredibly responsive. You couldn't ask for a better location. It's on 5th Avenue near 59th Street, across from the Apple store, the Plaza, and Central Park. The 5 Ave bus or taxi cab will take you downtown. You're a block away from the Madison Avenue bus to take you uptown and the subway going uptown and downtown on Lexington Avenue is a block farther. Cipriani's is on the main floor and offers room service. There are a number of wonderful places to eat within walking distance and a Starbucks a block away. You couldn't ask for a better place to shop as well. Bergdorf Goodman is two blocks away and Bloomingdale's 4 blocks away. There's a workout room on the main well-equipped to give you a vigorous work out. Lincoln Center is on the other side of the park 15 minutes away by foot. And Broadway 20 minutes away by cab unless of course you wanted to be in traffic and then 30 minutes. The rates are on the high side at this hotel but the value you get for your money is tremendous. I can't think of a better place to stay in New York. I wish there was a Sherry-Netherland everywhere we traveled.

Stayed June 2015

xicadasilvaa via TripAdvisor

A 5 star for everything in this hotel. Exceptional out of the ordinary (extra-ordinary) service, beautiful and clean. You really feel like in Venice. I've visited Hotel Cipriani at VENICE, and let me tell you, I felt like I was reliving this experience ; again... This hotel will be my destination next September, when I return to display a painting at the Brooklyn Museum. No doubt about it !!!!!

Stayed June 2015

HarrisonWhite via TripAdvisor

Have not got a bad word to say about this hotel, our room overlooked Central Park, which was an amazing view, the staff were friendly, helpful and very professional . Hotel itself was very clean and tidy, never any queues at the front desk . We have stayed at some larger 5* hotels but none of them can better the Sherry Netherland. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2015

SaraR via TripAdvisor

On a trip here for work, and this was the more affordable hotel, so most of our staff stayed here. Service is amazing, every single person I encountered was friendly and helpful. Rooms were large and well appointed. Beautiful hotel all-around. Couldn't have asked for anything better.

CButler0318 via TripAdvisor

The Sherry Netherland is my favorite hotel in New York due to their personal level of service, fabulous amenities (complimentary coffee, soda and bottled water), perfect location and beautiful accommodations. I highly recommend this gem of a hotel!

Jack P via TripAdvisor

My wife and I have stayed in many NYC hotels over the years and although we have experienced some great luxury hotels, without a doubt the Sherry-Netherlands tops the list! Everything about the hotel is perfect... they accomplish a great feat in blending top-notch service with a warm, personal approach that doesn't come across as stuffy, pretentious or arrogant (a common problem in some luxury hotels). The service at the front desk was always courteous, accommodating and even performed with a sense of humor that often made us smile! And little touches... like a hand written welcome note, a box of chocolates and a complimentary water/soda in the fridge go a long way in setting this hotel apart from the rest. And the bed...so incredibly comfortable! My wife claims to have had the best night sleep in months! And how nice was it to find a basket of complimentary toiletries in the clean, bright bathroom to save a trip to purchase forgotten items! In every aspect, the Sherry-Netherland exceeded our expectations and is the hotel of choice for all our uptown stays! Truly the best of the best!

Stayed June 2015

Ron C via TripAdvisor

What can I say...beautiful historic hotel right on Central Park...fantastic service...excellent restaurant on-premises...everything one could ask for in a great New York hotel experience. Location is outstanding for either walking or subway (59th St./5th Ave. Station is at the end of the block) You WILL NOT be disappointed.

Stayed June 2015

Inge156 via TripAdvisor

The Sherry Netherland far exceeded our expectations at every opportunity. Our City View Suite was large and picture perfect. There was a bottle of white wine chilled in a silver bucket in our room when we arrived. After settling in from a long flight, we received an additional surprise - a bottle of champagne, compliments of the Concierge. The staff pampered us for 5 wonderful days. Fantastic staff and attention to details. The perfect stay!

Stayed June 2015

missesBee via TripAdvisor

Every summer I take my kids here for a week. We rent a suite than includes a kitchenette. The building is old world fabulous and the rooms are super spacious with a generous living area. Located at the start of central park, across 5th Avenue from the Plaza and with all the best of the East Side in walking distance, I believe its the best uptown location around. Did I mention Harry Cipriani delivers to you room! The best part is though the amazing staff. The doormen know the kids and the front desk brings them little gift with their names on it. Their are fresh flowers and welcome card in the room on arrival. Seriously gracious and lovely service. Stay here if you can. It's a major experience in the lost art of great customer service, grand hotel and gracious travel.

Stayed June 2015

Amagash via TripAdvisor

This hotel is fantastic! Very nice rooms, very helpful customer service... The location is right in front of Central Park and ideally located for people who want to visit Manhattan. Strongly recommend!

Stayed June 2015

bgalligher via TripAdvisor

Over time, we have stayed in many upscale hotels, but The Sherry Netherland far exceeded any experience we have ever had. The suite was beautifully appointed with every ammenity you could want. The location provides easy access to shopping, restaurants and the beautiful Central Park. The staff is as knowledgeable as they are helpful and friendly. And, let's not forget the "manned" elevator with a cheerful attendant - what a nice touch! We hope to visit again next year!

Stayed May 2015

RobCinSD via TripAdvisor

If you're looking for a timeless and quintessential upper-east side experience the Sherry has that quiet, private residential hotel feel. The suite we stayed in was spacious, magnificent and commanded sweeping views of Central Park and the east side. Every detail was assiduously attended to and there are lovely little touches. The staff is down-to-earth but caring and motivated - as well as extremely efficient. It's a little piece of "old world New York" in the most positive sense.

Stayed May 2015

Karen R via TripAdvisor

I have stayed here over the past several years & reviewed it once before. I am here again & can only say that "I feel home again". What other luxury hotel filled with old world elegance and charm has the ability to welcome you with the warmth of an old friend, making you feel as if you're needs and satisfaction are their priority and they deliver with consistency to make that happen, time after time. I am a native New Yorker living in Houston. I come back to Manhattan a couple of times each year and always refer to going back home, and the Sherry makes that a reality. Their location, impeccable service, classic elegance presented with a warmth not found in any other luxury property, is truly unique. I travel extensively and can say this from first hand experience.

Stayed May 2015

Lucy from UK via Expedia

This hotel was more than we could have hoped for. Great location, lovely spacious room with a view of 5th Avenue. The staff were friendly, helpful and most importantly genuine. Can't wait to go back!

May 2015

kelly72147 via TripAdvisor

This was our first stay at The Sherry- Netherland and will not be our last. The staff was absolutely wonderful and catered to all your needs. Tammy, the concierge was so helpful. She even discussed in length with our 16 yr. old one evening an itinerary for following day. The rooms are the largest I have ever seen in NYC. The bathroom is marble and has every special item you would need, including extra toothpaste,mouthwash,etc. The mini refrigerator is stocked with water and soft drinks during your stay and a coffee at no cost to you! Location was fantastic! I can't say enough about this hotel except thanks to everyone that made our stay so nice!

Stayed April 2015

Gitana1973926 via TripAdvisor

We had the pleasure of being recommended to this hotel by a family member. We stayed here for three nights. Stunning hotel. The lobby is just beautiful, when I walk in, I thought I was at the Sistine Chapel in Rome. When we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised, that was the best part, we were given a large suite with a very nice bathroom, large closet, nice leaving room and a kitchen area, everything was very lovely and clean. The staff was very friendly it was just wonderful, we just can’t fault anything. My only regret, no enough time, there is so much to do in the city. Location is perfect. I can’t wait to come back and stay at this gorgeous hotel.

Stayed April 2015

David G via TripAdvisor

We visited the Sherry-Netherland Hotel for the first time this past weekend. We were deeply impressed by all aspects of the experience. The hotel staff are the friendliest we have ever experienced in Manhattan. The facility is immaculately maintained, the rooms are spacious and beautiful, and the little extras are noticeable. For example, the hotel provides free wifi, free soda and bottled water, free Sunday NY Times, a box of dark chocolates on arrival. These are things that you typically expect to pay extra for at other high-end NYC hotels. Other establishments may have larger reputations and more heralded names; none, including the Waldorf, is better than the Sherry-Netherland.

Stayed April 2015

SoManyPlaces4Me2See via TripAdvisor

An absolute PERFECT experience from check-in through check-out, we just enjoyed three nights of absolute bliss! Beyond reproach, the staff, service, food, cleanliness, location and view are the best that we have ever experienced in NYC and we will continue to return to The Sherry Netherland Hotel for all of our future trips.

Stayed April 2015

trio556 via TripAdvisor

We thought this hotel was special based on the location right on the edge of Central Park. The unique location was blown away by probably the best service I have encountered at a hotel in the U.S.

Concierge - personalized information based on listening and relating to us. Every restaurant recommended complimented our mood, attire, and budget. One night we had theater tickets - the restaurant selected was perfect and adjacent to our destination. They even offered a car, free of charge. Free is not a well known word in NY.

Staff - we were greeted every step of the way, and not with the cheesy attitude. The elevator staff even greeted us by surname. Housekeeping was exceptional. I even had a sport jacket pressed and returned the next day prior to dinner (for a reasonable fee).

Extras - Lobby was recently renovated and is beautiful. One day had a forecast of rain, complimentary umbrellas provided for all 3 of us. We were even able to get in to Harry Cipriani's, through side door within hotel, for late night dessert/drinks.

We have been fortunate to stay at several 5 star hotels. We consider the Sherry Netherlands the benchmark for service.

Stayed March 2015

Ali from New Zealand via Expedia

I had a wonderful stay at Sherry Netherland. It's an older hotel and a place for guests who will be respectful that this is not a high gloss, new hotel that will cater to your every whim. It is a place to cherish the old school charm of the Upper East side, where you have wonderful doormen who care about your whereabouts, and a staff that is very kind but are not doormats. I personally love this type of hotel. I loved the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel, and the location. I also loved the warm welcome I received when I arrived late and ordered a small bottle of wine to wind down. The staff were very helpful and kind.

April 2015

John from Austin, TX via Expedia

The lobby renovation reminds one of the Gritti Palace in Venice (ditto the elevators). Great staff: desk, bellman, doorman, etc. The elevator operators even remember your name and your floor without being told, like Claridges in London still does. Also they don't try to nickel and dime you with the refrigerator stuff like most places -- everything is complimentary. Smallish rooms (at the lower rates), but comfortable, reminiscent of the fifties. Location unbeatable, right at the corner of the Park on Grand Army Plaza. A class operation. I am particularly fond of Harry Cipriani's restaurant, right off the lobby. comfort food, albeit pricey.

April 2015

Jessica W via TripAdvisor

We were delighted to return to the Sherry for a second stay and once again enjoyed every aspect of our two-night visit. It is a gem of a hotel with an unbeatable address and service that makes you feel right at home. The newly restored ceiling fresco in the lobby is stunning and catches your breath every time you enter. Attentive doormen and elevator attendants give it a quintessential Upper East Side feel. Rooms that are large and spacious offer a comfortable and elegant space to return to after long days of sightseeing and evenings out.

Stayed March 2015

Bucha33 via TripAdvisor

My husband and I celebrated our 3rd anniversary with a trip to NYC. The entire experience at The Sherry was fabulous. From the room with fresh cut flowers to the beautiful lobby to the fabulous staff it surpassed our expectations. I can't recommend it enough.

Stayed March 2015

Nowaiser via TripAdvisor

First of all I would like to thank all whom write a positive comments coz the hotel and people over there really deserved they cover the tiny details. I made my reservation based on your high reviews.Nothing to add; other than emphasizing on your recommendation, true every single thing let you feel home, the People work their are outstanding where all have the charisma to let you feel delight. It's true bathroom and hotel are old; lobby and reception are very small give you the feeling that it's not a 5 stars hotel but a soon as you enter your room all your estimation will change. The location is amazing for whom want shopping and walk around for cafe and food. If I'm back the sherry Netherland will be my first choice. Thank you all for making my stay royalty.

Stayed March 2015

Lee via Booking.com

Special kudos to the valet who literally arrived at my door at immediately after I hung up complaining about a headache at 4am. He was there with Tylenol within minutes to get me thru the night. They don't respond that quickly in hospitals!

March 2015

Geoff B. via TripAdvisor

This was my first visit to this hidden gem and it could not have gone better. Beautiful hotel with a boutique feel, fantastic location (across from central park), excellent service and flawless rooms. I stayed at the Sherry Netherland over St. Patrick's Day and the parade was literally outside the front door. Great restaurant located next door and many other great dining options within a short walk. Times Square, Central Park, etc... all very close. Complimentary soft drinks and wifi were a plus (and a rarity in many hotels). Learned while staying there that it is 80% residences, which (at least for me) contributed to the feel of it being more of a "local" atmosphere (vs. an overtly "tourist" atmosphere). I could not find a single downside to staying at this hotel. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Stayed March 2015

Lisa L. via TripAdvisor

This was our first stay at The Sherry- Netherland. We chose to stay here after reading many wonderful reviews. We were not disappointed!! From the moment we arrived, everyone was so welcoming. The hotel is gorgeous. We had rooms 915 and 916, a king with an adjoining double. My husband and I along with our three teenagers were so comfortable there. The rooms are decorated beautifully and everything was so clean. All the Keurig coffees, waters and sodas, morning paper are complimentary. The towels and bed linen are wonderful quality. The bell men and elevator men were helpful and so nice. The rooms were always cleaned early in the day and turn down service done while we were at dinner. This is definitely the nicest hotel we have stayed at in NYC and we won't stay anywhere else. Our room cost was not much more than any of the big chain hotels and there is absolutely no comparison. The location was perfect, away from the huge crowds but within walking distance to fabulous shopping, subway entrance, great restaurants, across the street from Central Park. One night we ended up walking back to the hotel from the Imperial Theater which was a nice walk, very doable. Can't say enough about this lovely hotel. Perfect place to make memories for our family of 5!!

Stayed March 2015

Tony via Guest Comment Card

This is our favorite hotel. When we are there it feels like home. The staff is terrific. Thanks again.

Stayed February 2015

NycHappyTravler via TripAdvisor

My family and I needed a mini escape for the night. We were blown away once again by the service and attention to detail from the entire staff at The Sherry Netherlands. Hand written welcome cards, fresh flowers, chocolates and libations are their way of welcoming you. In a city of so many hotels to choose from I can't imagine choosing anywhere but The Sherry!

Stayed February 2015

Sonia via Guest Comment Card

Everything was perfect! Thank you!

Stayed February 2015

Sallie & Berton via Guest Comment Card

Our accommodations were fabulous as was everything else. Yes, we will be back!

Stayed January 2015

Marna via Guest Comment Card

Our FAVORITE HOTEL!!! Without hesitation, the most friendly, professional, warm and welcoming and warm place to stay! Luxurious, but not pretentious. It is my first choice always!! Bravo to your wonderful agents and staff from start to finish! And truly comforting to return to the same familiar faces again and again. Impeccable, courteous and most helpful in every regard. My special thanks to Jackie for always making me feel like I'm coming home.

Stayed January 2015

NYCLOVER13

We always stay here and we are never disappointed. Everything about this property is top notch. Not only is it in a great location but it is gorgeous. And I can't say enough about the staff. They are so friendly! The rooms are all different so it's fun to see which one you will get. I'm not sure I've stayed in the same room more than twice.

Stayed November 2014

Erin A

We checked in this past Saturday afternoon with our dog and it was a great experience throughout our short stay. Pete was amazing to us and our dog and made sure we had everything we needed. He really went the extra mile. The quiet, clean room was lovely. The location is in the middle of many shops such as Bergdorf's, Cartier's and across from Central Park. We will be back for sure. Thanks to everyone at "The Sherry" for providing us with a seamless stay!

Stayed September 2014

lynsey via Expedia

Old world hotel on fifth avenue at bottom of central park. A real touch of class with spacious rooms with fantastic antique style furniture. Friendly helpful staff.

Stayed October 2014

 
Sherry Netherland hotel reviews